Working in Mobile Gaming

8 Jul

Sophie

Michael

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here at Connect2Media we are sad to say goodbye to two of our newest placement students, Sophie and Michael, who have joined us for a 3 month masters placement and a week’s work experience respectively. Before they left they shared their thoughts on their time with us, and gave advice on how to get into the industry:

So… tell us a bit about yourself:

Michael: I’m 17, fromLiverpool, currently studying maths, further maths, physics and computing at A-level. I want to study Engineering or Computer Science at University, but my aim is to get a job working in the games industry as a designer or producer. I mainly play RPGs and FPSs on the PlayStation 3.

Sophie: I’m 21, from the Valleys of South Wales, and I’ve nearly finished my masters in Business and Marketing. I’m a casual gamer at heart and can spend hours at a time playing games on my mobile!

What have you been doing on your placement?

Michael: With the marketing team I took screenshots for promotional material, as well as helping update the Facebook and Wikipedia pages. With production I helped make minor changes to an Android game called “Color Stars”, and also designed the user interface and thought of some new game mechanics for the 365 Board Games sequel.

Sophie: I’ve been working with the marketing team to implement a new social media strategy, running competitions and engaging gamers on forums. One of my bigger projects was to undertake some consumer research into casual gamers and analyse the results.

What is the most interesting thing you’ve learnt?

Michael: The most interesting thing I have learnt is how the game creation process works- who and what is involved at each step. This has helped my understanding of the creation process and has made me want to join the industry even more.

Sophie: I was a bit of a mobile gaming novice before I started, so everything I’ve learnt has been new and interesting!! I think the most fascinating thing though has been watching titles transform from simple ideas to fully formed games that people are discussing on our social sites and forums.  

Any advice to others trying to get work experience with a mobile gaming company?

Michael: Just keep asking at as many places as you possibly can, and eventually somewhere will let you in.

Sophie: I agree with Michael. Don’t be shy, just ask. The worst that can happen is they say no! And once you get some experience remember to write down everything – it can be a lot to take in on your first day!

If you want to ask Sophie or Michael any questions about their time with us, follow them on Twitter at @sophierussler and @mikeh1194

Leave a Reply

